Lizzo – Cuz I Love You Too Tour

Apparently, it’s been some time since I’ve attended a show – well, a hip-hop show that is. My last post was in August of 2018, a whole freaking year ago. I’m really starting to slip. Thankfully, I was able to change that this past Sunday evening when Amanda and I had the chance to go see Lizzo at the Charlotte Metro Credit Union Amphitheatre in Charlotte, NC. Originally, the show was scheduled to be at the Fillmore, but due to overwhelming demand, the show was moved to the amphitheatre which has a much larger capacity.

My brother actually put me on to Lizzo like a year ago when he introduced me to Lizzo’s feel good anthem (and video), Good as Hell, but I never took the time to really explore any other songs/albums that she had. Fortunately for me, Lizzo BLEW UP this past year and songs that she had finished 2+ years ago began to get the respect and radio play that they rightfully deserve. The Netflix movie Someone Great definitely played a role in that rise to stardom. And on the heels of this new wave of stardom, Lizzo released her debut album, “Cuz I Love You” which in turn generated the the “Cuz I Love You” tour that went across North America from April through July. Demand was so high (this is becoming a re-occurring them) that a subsequent fall 2019 tour leg was announced, the “Cuz I Love You Too” tour.

Cuz I Love You Too Tour

On to the show.

This was likely the most diverse crowd for any show that I’ve ever been to – there were guys, girls, gays, straights, black, whites, and whatever else you can imagine that somebody might identify with – and I think that can be attributed to the ideals that Lizzo uses in her music – self love, body positivity, shamelessly being yourself – all things that I think we as a society need more of in our role models. It’s who Lizzo is at heart and what she vocalizes in her music. She’s simply Lizzo. I think she summed it up best when she told us all during the show, “I’m not trendy, I’m not cool… I’m just a big black beautiful girl who can sing and y’all have supported me”. She’s the type of humble, down to earth personality that you simply love to see actually make it.

On top of having a heart-warming personality, Lizzo has a serious set of pipes and can absolutely belt out the notes. Donning a bedazzled purple body suit with tassles (naturally), Lizzo put on a spectacular performance that included the following setlist:

1. Heaven Help Me
2. Worship
3. Cuz I Love You

4. Exactly How I Feel
5. Scuse Me
6. Water Me
7. Jerome
8. “It’s My Party” / Crybaby
9. Tempo
10. Boys
11. “Jigalow” / Like a Girl
12. Soulmate
13. Lingerie
14. Good as Hell
15. Truth Hurts

Encore

16. Juice

Truth Hurts was the highlight for me, and I don’t think I was alone, because the audience was going word for word with Lizzo during the performance. On top of that, Lizzo paid homage to the actual music video by wearing a wedding veil and had her backup dancers as her wedding party. Lizzo even broke out her signature flute mid performance!

Lizzo didn’t disappoint, and if you have the opportunity to see her in the future, I would highly recommend it. Here are her remaining tour dates:

9/18 – Philadelphia, PA – The Met
9/19 – Toronto, ON – Rebel Complex
9/24 – New York, NY – Radio City Music Hall
9/25 – Washington, DC – The Anthem
9/28 – Chicago, IL – Aragon Ballroom
9/30 – Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium
10/2 – Louisville, KY – Palace Theatre
10/8 -Saint Louis, MO – The Pageant
10/9 – Minneapolis, MN – The Armory
10/10 – Madison, WI – The Sylvee
10/15 – Denver, CO – Fillmore Auditorium
10/18 – Los Angeles, CA – Hollywood Palladium
10/23 – Phoenix, AZ – The Van Buren
10/24 – San Diego, CA – Cal Coast Credit Union Open Air Theatre
10/25 – Las Vegas, NV – The Chelsea at the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
10/27 – San Francisco, CA – Bill Graham Civic Auditorium

Leave a comment