@YG – The #MyKrazyLife Tour touches down in Charlotte!

This past Monday night, Bompton’s own @YG headlined his own tour in Charlotte, NC which was named for his debut album that dropped a few weeks ago, My Krazy Life.

My Krazy Life Tour Poster

My Krazy Life Tour Poster

This marked the 3rd time I’ve seen YG perform, but only the first time where he was able to put down an entire set as the headlining artist. The show was going on at my personal favorite venue in Charlotte, the @FillmoreNC. I got there at about 6:45pm when doors opened at 7pm and I was literally the FIRST person in line. I felt like the Xbox achievement status should’ve popped up on my phone screen. Not only that, but I got to chop it up with my man @Senior who was set to open for YG. If you check out the last post regarding the Juicy J show, you’ll notice I showed some support for Senior. This didn’t go unnoticed. Before he left to go inside he told me he would get me a beer. I was like yea, aight. Didn’t think much of it. We’ll come back to that.

Once the doors opened, I went in and grabbed a 24oz. cold one and found a nice spot against the front row railing where I managed to bump into a new friend of mine, @Drizzy_Dre1990, who had come all the way from NC A&T (What up Aggies!) to see his favorite rapper, YG Fo Hunnid. After a few pleasantries and a lot of general hip-hop discussion, it looked like the show was set to begin.

The first act to warm up the crowd was @iamDJLP, who also happened to perform at the Juicy J show – my bad for not including you on that post! At first the crowd was a little quiet – not a ton of people were there yet and people were probably more on the sober side. A few tweets were exchanged between he and myself that cracked me up and as this was going on, the room was filling up and the drinks were starting to flow. By the end of his set, the crowd was ready to go. I know Mustard had dibs on the A$AP Ferg joint, but next time that’s all you!

Next up was Charlotte’s finest, @Senior, accompanied by @NevaMind910 @TPClikeYAK @ArturoGreene90 @alexxKgray and the rest of the Hornets N.E.S.S. I’m pretty sure I spotted @ElevatorJay back there as well. Simply put, these guys hold it down for the Queen City and I encourage anyone reading this blog to check them out. Senior performed his single “Slow Motion” and a number of other songs with @NevaMind910 to keep promoting the #PaperboiWorld movement and put on for Charlotte. Much respect gentlemen.

@Senior

@Senior

@DJMustard was the next on the scene. If you don’t know who he is, C’MON SON! If you listen to virtually any hip-hop/rap station you’re bound to hear at least 3-5 singles that he’s produced. This guy has been with YG from the get go, so it’s only right that he would be DJ’ing YG’s first headlining tour. Mustard came out and started pumping out the jams and you could feel the energy level rising. His last song was K. Camp’s “Cut Her Off (Remix)” which the crowd ate up. Mustard threw out some “Mustard On Tha Beat” towels and tees which started a frenzy as well.

Mustard on tha beat hoe!!

Mustard on tha beat hoe!!

Right before YG was set to come out, I felt a bump on my shoulder. Senior found me and handed over an ice cold brew while saying “I’m a man of my word”. I was like wow, you’re awesome. I hope the knuckleheads at Amos’ Southend get things straightened out for Saturday night when @ScHoolBoyQ comes to town because it will be my turn to return the favor my friend.

Finally, It was time. The stage prop, which was previously covered, was now showing a cut out of a house. A house from Bompton. It had graffiti of “Bompton” and “Spruce St” all over it. Smoke started coming out from underneath the front door which soon covered the entire stage, and that’s when we heard it. YG’s momma yelling the Intro to his album, and all of a sudden, BPT!!! YG came out of the front door and the crowd went nuts. Check it Out:

After this, YG went on to do “I Just Wanna Party” from his debut album and then transitioned into a little something unexpected. Dr. Dre’s “The Next Episode” came on the speaker system and YG essentially was a hype man for the audience, until he decided to show off a little footwork for our viewing pleasure. This had me cracking up. Please notice the heel clicker at the end too.

After this YG went on to do literally EVERY song from the album except for “When I Was Gone” and the Deluxe Edition tracks. Everything else, was done. And instead of just doing them all in order, YG mixed it up by throwing in some of his previous material including “Up”, “Toot It & Boot It” “I’ma Thug”, and “You Broke”. I was in the middle of turnin up but managed to catch two of my favorites:

And last but not least…and you knew it would end this way…

Another turnt night in the books. I thoroughly enjoyed meeting some new people and listening to some great music and am already looking forward to this Saturday when @ScHoolBoyQ comes to @AmosSouthend with @isaiahrashad @vincestaples and hopefully my boy @Senior to keep it 100 yet again.

Leave a Reply

