Yo Gotti’s #IAm Tour

Exactly one week after seeing J. Cole & Wale, I had the chance to see Yo Gotti as his tour stopped by the Fillmore in Charlotte, NC. These artists are almost complete opposites as far as their rapping styles and lyrics are concerned, but they can both put on a helluva show.

I got to the venue early so I could get up front for a better view and that turned out to be a clutch move.
First up was Shy Glizzy. I don’t really know much about him but he kicked things off in a way where you knew it would only get wilder.

Shy Glizzy

Shy Glizzy

2nd, Yo Gotti’s right hand man: Zed Zilla. He performed some tracks off of his latest Time 2 Eat mixtape including “Memphis Shit” and “License Suspended”.

Zed Zilla

Zed Zilla

The next act was just as exciting for me as seeing Yo Gotti. Compton’s own: YG Fo Hunnid!!

YG!!

YG!!

It was turn up time. YG did “I’m 4rm Bompton”, my personal favorite “Ima Thug”, “Pop It”, “Bitches Ain’t Shit”, “Toot It & Boot It”, “Up”, “You Broke” and finally ended it with his new single “My Nigga”. During the set a number of fine young females were called to the stage to do a little twerkin and they gave Miley a run for her money. Sike. They CRUSHED Miley. The ratchet level on a scale of 1-10 had hit 17.

And then it was time. Gotti time. The lights went out and all you could see was the illuminated #IAm sign in the background. You could feel the anticipation building in the crowd. Music started playing. It was hard to tell what it was at first but then you could make it out. His new single “Fuck You” off the Nov. 19th mixtape was playing. And just as soon as the bass dropped he came right out of the middle of the stage. The crowd went crazy.

Yo Gotti

Yo Gotti

Gotti played songs ranging from his stuff years ago to music that literally dropped last week. He did “Killa”, “Touchdown”, “Check”, “Purple Flowers”, “Don’t Like”, “Liar”, “Disqualified”, his newest single “King Shit”, and a number of others in between that I can’t remember right now. His last song was obviously “Act Right” and it brought the house down – even more so when YG came back out to do his verse. After that there was an encore of “My Nigga” by YG at Gotti’s request. Gotti then went on to take a photo with the crowd to his back that he posted on Instagram. If you take a look, you can see me.

IMG_6585

Me!!

Me!!

The show was over. But my night wasn’t just yet.
Being front row has its perks. Not only is your view unbeatable, but when the performers decide to mingle with the crowd, you’re the people they come to. After performing the last songs YG and Yo Gotti both came through the front of the crowd and dapped up a number of fans, including myself. It was pretty cool.

It gets better. I had taken some cash out prior to coming to the show because I wanted to get one of YG’s hoodies that have the 4 Hunnid logo on them. I didn’t want to buy it before the show because then I’d have to carry it around with me the whole time. So after the show ended and getting dapped up, the crowd began to clear out. I figured that this would be a good time to make my way to the merchandise booth to get that hoodie. Well it turns out that YG was selling these personally! Not only did I get to meet him, I got a photo with him and he signed my hoodie. As I approached him he said “Yo I remember you from the crowd!” I even got the chance to tell him how much I loved his music, especially “Ima Thug”. It was a surreal moment.

YG & Myself

YG & Myself

IMG_6584

As always, if you get the chance to attend this show, DO IT. You’ll thank me later.

Check the tour dates below.

I Am

Leave a Reply

